O’Nest is hardly ever heard

May 30, 2010

Let me, for once, cut to the chase: here is Chapter 1 of Book 1. If you join only now and want to start from the start you should go here.

And now for my tribute to the Billy Joel lyrics that offered up the title of the post (and so opening up a whole new genre of sillyrics (term explained below, look for the *)):

If I search for Earnestness
it ís hard to find.
You can have the stuff you need to live,
but if you look for Earnestness
you are quite out of your mind.
It always is so bloody hard to give.

O’Nest, he, is such a lonely man. 
Anything makes him blue.
O’Nest, he, is hardly ever heard.
Nobody hence has a clue.

It can never be the case
you really sympathize.
If I wear my heart out on my sleeve
you still just make some pretty face
to cover up your lies.
All I want is someone to believe.

O’Nest, he, is such a lonely man. 
Anything makes him blue.
O’Nest, he, is hardly ever heard.
Nobody hence has a clue.

I can find a reader.
I can’t find a fan.
But I have security until the bitter end,
born a natural leader, 
with promises of ‘can’,
to failure bent.

When I’m deep inside of me 
I’m way too concerned.
Let me just with all of that be done,
remain with surface honesty,
once from all deepness churned,
I’ll be someone that can be depended on.

O’Nest, he, is such a lonely man. 
Anything makes him blue.
O’Nest, he, is hardly ever heard. 
Only now I got the clue.

* Silly Lyrics worked into an, as far as I know, neologism by use of the devise of phonetical contraction.

Leave a Reply

